Ask The Rabbi

Caviar Kosher

Become a Supporter Library Library
Topic: Kosher, Caviar

Fran Cohen from Mountain View, California wrote:

Dear Rabbi,

Is caviar kosher?

Dear Fran Cohen,

No, caviar is not kosher. Real caviar is the roe (eggs) of the sturgeon fish, which has no scales. I guess that's why the ultimate Jewish gastronomic experience is schmaltz herring!

There is kosher "caviar" made from salmon roe.

Enter Search Phrase:    
Browse By Keyword: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z

Ohr Somayach International is a 501c3 not-for-profit corporation (letter on file) EIN 13-3503155 and your donation is tax deductable.